Executive Committee

Alireza Doostdar, Chair (Ph.D., Harvard University, 2012)
Associate Professor of Islamic Studies and the Anthropology of Religion; also in the College
doostdar@uchicago.edu
(773) 702-8227

Kathleen Cavanaugh (Ph.D., The London School of Economics and Political Science)
Executive Director of the Pozen Family Center for Human Rights, and Senior Professor (Instrl) in the College
kac1@uchicago.edu

Leah Feldman (Ph.D., University of California, Los Angeles)
Associate Professor in the Department of Comparative Literature and The College
feldmanl@uchicago.edu
(773) 702-5809

Noha Aboulmagd Forster (M.A., Princeton, 1983)
Associate Senior Instructional Professor; Director of Arabic Language Program
nforster@uchicago.edu
(773) 834-8349

Ghenwa Hayek (Ph.D., Brown University, 2011)
Associate Professor of Modern Arabic Literature
ghenwa@uchicago.edu
(773) 702-8306

Hakan Karateke (Ph.D., Bamberg University, 1998)
Kanuni S├╝leyman Professor for Ottoman and Modern Turkish Studies
karateke@uchicago.edu
(773) 702-5375

Callie Maidhof (Ph.D., University of California, Berkeley, 2016)
Assistant Senior Instructional Professor; Associate Director, Global Studies Programs
cmaidhof@uchicago.edu
(773) 834-5289

Thomas E.R. Maguire* (Ph.D., University of Texas at Austin, 2009)
Associate Director, CMES
tmaguire@uchicago.edu
(773) 702-8296

Brian Muhs* (Ph.D., University of Pennsylvania, 1996)
Associate Professor of Egyptology
bpmuhs@uchicago.edu
(773) 702-9533

Na'ama Rokem (Ph.D., Stanford University, 2007)
Associate Professor, Comparative Literature & NELC
nrokem@uchicago.edu
(773) 702-7251

Kamala Russell (Ph.D., University of California, Berkeley, 2021)
Assistant Professor of Anthropology
kamala@uchicago.edu

Pouneh Shabani-Jadidi (Ph.D., University of Ottawa, 2012)
Instructional Professor of Persian
pshabanijadidi@uchicago.edu

Paul Walker* (Ph.D., University of Chicago, 1974)
Senior Lecturer in Near Eastern Languages and Civilizations
pwalker@uchicago.edu
(773) 702-4619

Lisa Wedeen (Ph.D., University of California, Berkeley, 1995)
Mary R. Morton Distinguished Service Professor of Political Science
l-wedeen@uchicago.edu
(773) 702-8065

*ex officio members