Executive Committee

Persis Berlekamp
(Ph.D., Harvard)
Associate Professor of Art History
berlekam@uchicago.edu
(773) 702-0250

Philip Bohlman
(Ph.D., University of Illinois, 1984)
Mary Werkman Distinguished Service Professor of Music
p-bohlman@uchicago.edu
(773) 702-0514

Alireza Doostdar, Chair
(Ph.D., Harvard University)
Assistant Professor of Islamic Studies and the Anthropology of Religion
doostdar@uchicago.edu
(773) 702-8227

Noha Aboulmagd Forster
(A.B.D., Princeton, 1983)
Lecturer in Arabic
nforster@uchicago.edu
(773) 834-8349

Ghenwa Hayek
(Ph.D., Brown University, 201)
Associate Professor of Modern Arabic Literature
ghenwa@uchicago.edu
(773) 702-8306

Hakan Karateke
(Ph.D., Bamberg University, 1998)
Professor of Ottoman and Turkish Culture, Language, and Literature
karateke@uchicago.edu
(773) 702-5375

Thomas E.R. Maguire*
(Ph.D., University of Texas at Austin, 2009)
Associate Director, CMES
tmaguire@uchicago.edu
(773) 702-8296

Na'ama Rokem
(Ph.D., Stanford University, 2007)
Assistant Professor of Hebrew Literature
nrokem@uchicago.edu
(773) 702-7251

Holly Shissler
(Ph.D., UCLA, 1995)
Associate Professor of Ottoman and Modern Turkish History
ashissle@midway.uchicago.edu
(773) 834-4390

Theo van den Hout*
(Ph.D., University of Amsterdam, 1989)
Institute for the Study of Ancient Cultures Director (Interim) and Arthur and Joann Rasmussen Professor of Hittite and Anatolian Languages
tvdhout@uchicago.edu
(773) 834-4688

Paul Walker*
(Ph.D., Chicago, 1974)
Senior Lecturer in Near Eastern Languages and Civilizations
pwalker@uchicago.edu
(773) 702-4619

Lisa Wedeen
(Ph.D., Berkeley, 1995)
Mary R. Morton Distinguished Service Professor of Political Science
l-wedeen@uchicago.edu
(773) 702-8065

*ex officio members