Faculty and Academic Personnel

Osama Abu-Eledam
Lecturer in Arabic

abu@uchicago.edu
(773) 834-4471

Hussein Agrama (Ph.D., Johns Hopkins, 2005)
Associate Professor of Anthropology

hagrama@uchicago.edu
(773) 702-4503

Muzaffar Alam (Ph.D., Jawaharlal Nehru University, 1976)
George V. Bobrinskoy Professor of South Asian Languages & Civilizations

alam@uchicago.edu
(773) 702-7547

Helga Anetshofer (Ph.D., Vienna University, 2001)
Lecturer in Turkish and Turkic Languages

anetshofer@uchicago.edu
(773) 702-1047

Kagan Arik (Ph.D., University of Washington - Seattle, 1999)
Ayasli Lecturer in Turkish and Turkic Languages; Lecturer in Central Asian Studies

kagana@uchicago.edu
(773)834-4471

Orit Bashkin (Ph.D., Princeton, 2004)
Professor of Modern Middle Eastern History

oritb@uchicago.edu

Persis Berlekamp (Ph.D., Harvard)
Associate Professor of Art History

berlekam@uchicago.edu
(773) 702-0250

Philip Bohlman (Ph.D., University of Illinois, 1984)
Mary Werkman Distinguished Service Professor of Music

p-bohlman@uchicago.edu
(773) 702-0514

Yousef Casewit (Ph.D., Yale, 2014)
Assistant Professor of Qur'anic Studies

yousefcasewit@uchicago.edu
773-702-8218

Fred M. Donner (Ph.D., Princeton, 1975)
Professor of Near Eastern History

f-donner@uchicago.edu
(773) 702-9544

Alireza Mohammadi Doostdar (Ph.D., Harvard, 2011)
Assistant Professor of Islamic Studies

Doostdar@uchicago.edu
(773) 702-8227

Ahmed El Shamsy (Ph.D., Harvard, 2009)
Assistant Professor of Islamic Thought

elshamsy@uchicago.edu

Leah Feldman (Ph.D., University of California-Los Angeles, 2013.)
Assistant Professor of Comparative Literature

feldmanl@uchicago.edu
(773) 702-5809

Ariela Finkelstein (M.A., Chicago, 1996)
Senior Lecturer in Hebrew

afinkels@midway.uchicago.edu
(773) 702-1380

Michael Fishbane (Ph.D., Brandeis, 1971)
Nathan Cummings Professor of Jewish Studies in the Divinity School

mfishbane@midway.uchicago.edu
(773) 702-8234

Cornell H. Fleischer (Ph.D., Princeton, 1982)
Kanunî Süleyman Professor of Islamic and Ottoman History

c-fleischer@uchicago.edu
(773) 702-8342

Noha Aboulmagd Forster (A.B.D., Princeton, 1983)
Lecturer in Arabic

nforster@uchicago.edu
(773) 834-8349

Victor Friedman (Ph.D., Chicago, 1975)
Professor of Balkan Linguistics; Chair, Department of Slavic Languages and Literature

v-friedman@uchicago.edu
(773) 702-0732

Saeed Ghahremani (Ph.D., Toronto, 2004)
Senior Lecturer in Persian

syousef@uchicago.edu
(773) 834-8347

McGuire Gibson (Ph.D., Chicago, 1968)
Professor of Mesopotamian Archaeology

m-gibson@uchicago.edu
(773) 702-9525

Norman Golb (Ph.D., Johns Hopkins, 1954)
Ludwig Rosenberger Professor of Jewish History and Civilization

n-golb@uchicago.edu
(773) 702-9526

Alessandra L. González (Ph.D., Baylor University)
Postdoctoral Scholar and Lecturer, Department of Economics

alg2@uchicago.edu

Hripsime Haroutunian (Ph.D., Institut Vostokovedeniya, Academy of Sciences, Moscow, 1992)
Lecturer in Armenian

h-haroutunian@uchicago.edu
(773) 834-4472

Rebecca Hasselbach (Ph.D., Harvard, 2004)
Associate Professor of Comparative Semitics

hasselb@uchicago.edu
(773) 834-3290

Ghenwa Hayek (Ph.D., Brown University)
Assistant Professor of Arabic

ghenwa@uchicago.edu

Kay Heikkinen (Ph.D., Harvard University, 1980)
Lecturer in Arabic

kheikkin@uchicago.edu
(773) 702-9512

Angie Heo (Ph.D., University of California at Berkeley)
Assistant Professor, Anthropology and Sociology of Religions

heo@uchicago.edu
(773) 702-1867

Janet Johnson (Ph.D., Chicago, 1972)
Professor of Egyptology

j-johnson@uchicago.edu
(773) 702-9530

Walter Kaegi (Ph.D., Harvard, 1965)
Professor of Byzantine and Late Roman History

kwal@midway.uchicago.edu
(773) 702-8346

Hakan Karateke (Ph.D., Bamberg University, 1998)
Professor of Ottoman and Turkish Culture, Language, and Literature

karateke@uchicago.edu
(773) 702-5375

Franklin Lewis (Ph.D., Chicago, 1995)
Associate Professor of Persian Language and Literature

flewis@uchicago.edu
(773) 702-4504

Darryl Li (Ph.D., Harvard, 2012; J.D., Yale, 2009)
Assistant Professor of Anthropology

darrylli@uchicago.edu
(773) 702-4001

Bruce Lincoln (Ph.D., Chicago, 1976)
Professor of Divinity

blincoln@midway.uchicago.edu
(773) 702-5083

John J. Mearsheimer (Ph.D., Cornell University, 1980)
R. Wendell Harrison Distinguished Service Professor of Political Science

j-mearsheimer@uchicago.edu
(773) 702-8667

Paul Mendes-Flohr (Ph.D., Brandeis University)
Dorothy Grant Maclear Professor of Modern Jewish History and Thought in the Divinity School

prmendes@uchicago.edu
(773) 702-5084

Marvin Mikesell (Ph.D., Berkeley, 1959)
Professor of Geography

mmikesell@uchicago.edu
(773) 702-8313

Kathleen Morrison (Ph.D., Berkeley, 1992)
Neukom Family Professor of Anthropology and of Social Sciences in the College

k-morrison@uchicago.edu
(773) 702-7704

Brian Muhs (Ph.D., University of Pennsylvania, 1996)
Associate Professor of Egyptology

bpmuhs@uchicago.edu
(773) 702-9533

David Nirenberg (Ph.D. Princeton University, 1992)
Deborah R. and Edgar D. Jannotta Professor of Medieval History and Social Thought; Dean, Social Sciences Division

nirenberg@uchicago.edu
(773) 702-3423

Aasim Padela (M.D., Weill Cornell Medical College, 2005)
Director of the Initiative on Islam and Medicine; Assistant Professor of Medicine, Sections of Emergency Medicine and General Internal Medicine

apadela@medicine.bsd.uchicago.edu
(773) 702-6081

Robert A. Pape (Ph.D., University of Chicago, 1988)
Professor of Political Science

rpape@uchicago.edu
(773) 834-0770

Dennis Pardee (Ph.D., Chicago, 1974)
Professor of Hebrew

d-pardee@uchicago.edu
(773) 702-9541

Jennifer Pitts (Ph.D., Harvard, 2000)
Associate Professor of Political Science

jpitts@uchicago.edu
(773) 702-8868

Tahera Qutbuddin  (Ph.D, Harvard, 1999)
Associate Professor of Arabic Literature

btq@uchicago.edu
(773) 834-8786

Na'ama Rokem (Ph.D, Stanford, 2007)
Assistant Professor of Modern Hebrew Literature

nrokem@uchicago.edu

Marlis Saleh (Ph.D., University of Chicago)
Bibliographer for Middle East Studies; Editor of the Mamlūk Studies Review

msaleh@uchicago.edu
(773) 702-8425

Michael Sells (Ph.D., University of Chicago)
John Henry Barrows Professor of Islamic History and Literature

msells@midway.uchicago.edu
(773) 702-8238

Cynthia Shawamreh
Lecturer in Law at the University of Chicago Law School

cshawamreh@sbcglobal.net
(312) 744-1015

Holly Shissler (Ph.D., UCLA, 1995)
Associate Professor of Ottoman and Modern Turkish History

ashissle@midway.uchicago.edu
(773) 834-4390

Matt Stolper (Ph.D., University of Michigan, 1974)
John A. Wilson Professor of Oriental Studies

m-stolper@uchicago.edu
(773) 702-8932

Paul Walker (Ph.D., Chicago, 1974)
Senior Lecturer in Near Eastern Languages and Civilizations

pwalker@uchicago.edu
(773) 702-4619

Bernard Wasserstein (D.Phil., Oxford, 1974; D.Litt., Oxford, 2001)
Harriet & Ulrich E. Meyer Professor Emeritus of Modern European Jewish History

bmjw@uchicago.edu
(773) 702-3627

Lisa Wedeen (Ph.D., Berkeley, 1995)
Mary R. Morton Professor of Political Science

l-wedeen@uchicago.edu
(773) 702-8065

Donald Whitcomb (Ph.D., University of Chicago, 1979)
Research Associate (Associate Professor), Islamic Archaeology

d-whitcomb@uchicago.edu
(773) 702-9530

John E. Woods (Ph.D., Princeton, 1974)
Professor of Iranian and Central Asian History

j-woods@uchicago.edu
(773) 702-8343

 

Emeritus Faculty

Howard Aronson, Professor Emeritus
Departments of Slavic Languages and Literature & Linguistics

hia5@uchicago.edu
(773) 702-8195

Ralph Austen, Professor Emeritus
Department of History

wwb3@uchicago.edu
(773) 702-8344

Lanny Bell, Professor Emeritus
Oriental Institute and Department of Near Eastern Languages and Civilizations

l-bell@uchicago.edu
(773) 702-9536

Menachem Brinker, Professor Emeritus &Henry Crown Professor Emeritus, Department of Near Eastern Languages and Civilizations

menachem2002@yahoo.com
(773) 834-0123

Richard Chambers, Professor Emeritus
Department of Near Eastern Languages and Civilizations

 

Bruce Craig, Former Bibliographer of Middle East Studies

brcr@uchicago.edu

Robert Dankoff, Professor Emeritus
Department of Near Eastern Languages and Civilizations

r-dankoff@uchicago.edu
(773) 702-7909

Gidon A. Gottlieb, Professor Emeritus &
Leo Spitz Professor Emeritus
University of Chicago Law School

gidongottlieb@law.uchicago.edu
(773) 702-9607

Harry Hoffner, Professor Emeritus
John. A. Wilson Prof. Emeritus, Oriental Institute; Depts. of Near East Lang & Civ and Linguistics; Editor, Hittite Dictionary

h-hoffner@uchicago.edu
(773) 702-9527

Halil Inalcik, Professor Emeritus
Departments of History & Near Eastern Languages and Civilizations - The University of Chicago, Bilkent University

inalcik@bilkent.edu.tr
90-312-266-5102

Wadad Kadi, Avalon Foundation Distinguished Service Professor Emerita of Near Eastern Languages and Civilizations

w-kadi@uchicago.edu

Morton Kaplan, Professor Emeritus
Department of Political Science

 

Carolyn Killean, Associate Professor Emerita
Departments of Near Eastern Languages and Civilizations & Linguistics

 

Joel Kraemer, Professor Emeritus
John Henry Barrows Professor Emeritus
Divinity School

jkraemer@uchicago.edu
(773) 702-8247

Heshmat Moayyad, Professor Emeritus
Department of Near Eastern Languages and Civilizations

hmoayyad@uchicago.edu

C.M. Naim, Professor Emeritus
Department of South Asian Languages and Civilizations

c-naim@uchicago.edu

John Perry, Professor Emeritus
Department of Near Eastern Languages and Civilizations

j-perry@uchicago.edu
(773) 702-7251

Lloyd Rudolph, Professor Emeritus
Department of Political Science

l-rudolph@uchicago.edu
(773) 702-8056

Jaroslav Stetkevych, Professor Emeritus
Department of Near Eastern Languages and Civilizations

 

Edward Wente, Professor Emeritus
Oriental Institute and Department of Near Eastern Languages and Civilizations

e-wente@uchicago.edu
(773) 702-9539

Marvin Zonis, Professor Emeritus
Booth School of Business

zonis@mza-inc.com
(773) 702-8753