Executive Committee 2016-2017

Hakan Karateke, Chair
(Ph.D., Bamberg University, 1998)
Professor of Ottoman and Turkish Culture, Language, and Literature

karateke@uchicago.edu
(773) 702-5375

Alex Barna*
Outreach Coordinator, CMES

abarna@uchicago.edu
(773) 702-8298

Orit Bashkin
(Ph.D., Princeton, 2004)
Professor of Modern Middle Eastern History

oritb@uchicago.edu

Persis Berlekamp
(Ph.D., Harvard)
Associate Professor of Art History

berlekam@uchicago.edu
(773) 702-0250

Philip Bohlman
(Ph.D., University of Illinois, 1984)
Mary Werkman Distinguished Service Professor of Music

p-bohlman@uchicago.edu
(773) 702-0514

Fred M. Donner
(Ph.D., Princeton University, 1975)
Professor of Near Eastern History

f-donner@uchicago.edu
(773) 702-9544

Noha Aboulmagd Forster
(A.B.D., Princeton, 1983)
Lecturer in Arabic

nforster@uchicago.edu
(773) 834-8349

Walter Kaegi
(Ph.D., Harvard, 1965)
Professor of Byzantine and Late Roman History

kwal@midway.uchicago.edu
(773) 702-8346

Franklin Lewis
(Ph.D., Chicago, 1995)
Chair, Department of Near Eastern Languages and Civilizations; Associate Professor of Persian Language and Literature

flewis@uchicago.edu
(773) 702-4504

Thomas E.R. Maguire*
(Ph.D., University of Texas at Austin, 2009)
Associate Director, CMES

tmaguire@uchicago.edu
(773) 702-8296

Brian Muhs*
(Ph.D., University of Pennsylvania, 1996)
Associate Professor of Egyptology

bpmuhs@uchicago.edu
(773) 702-9533

Tahera Qutbuddin 
(Ph.D, Harvard, 1999)
Associate Professor of Arabic Literature

btq@uchicago.edu
(773) 834-8786

Na'ama Rokem
(Ph.D., Stanford University, 2007)
Assistant Professor of Hebrew Literature

nrokem@uchicago.edu
(773) 702-7251

Holly Shissler
(Ph.D., UCLA, 1995)
Associate Professor of Ottoman and Modern Turkish History

ashissle@midway.uchicago.edu
(773) 834-4390

Gil Stein*
(Ph.D., University of Pennsylvania, 1988)
Director of the Oriental Institute and Professor of Near Eastern Archaeology

gstein@uchicago.edu
(773) 702-4098

Paul Walker*
(Ph.D., Chicago, 1974)
Senior Lecturer in Near Eastern Languages and Civilizations

pwalker@uchicago.edu
(773) 702-4619

Lisa Wedeen
(Ph.D., Berkeley, 1995)
Mary R. Morton Professor of Political Science

l-wedeen@uchicago.edu
(773) 702-8065

John E. Woods
(Ph.D., Princeton, 1974)
Professor of Iranian and Central Asian History

j-woods@uchicago.edu
(773) 702-8343

*ex officio members